The Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) is an autonomous body under the Ministry of S&T, Kerala, constituted in November 2002 to be an apex body under government of Kerala for change and development through Science and Technology. Formerly it was the Science, Technology and Environment Committee (STEC), established in 1972 in concurrence with the Science Policy of Government of India. The council promotes and activates programmes for increasing the domain of knowledge in science, and fine tunes policies which are significant and for the sustained development of humanity. The council prepares the road map for development through scientific research and innovation in technologies. Achieving excellence in basic research, academia-industry interactions, strengthening indigenous initiatives, and building strong infrastructure and developing a high-quality science education system in the state are our targeted goals. This has been achieved through various schemes and programs and by the R &D organisations established by the council. At present KSCSTE has 8 R&D Institutions under its umbrella.

Centre for Water Resources Development and Management
Jawaharlal Nehru Tropical Botanic Garden and Research Institute
Kerala Forest research Institute
Malabar Botanical Garden & Institute for Plant Sciences
The Kerala School of Mathematics
Institute of Advanced Virology
National Transportation Planning & Research Centre
Srinivasa Ramanujan Institute for Basic Science